About Seva: Our Team

Seva’s Board of Directors

Recent Board of Directors meeting, 2016.

Vaughan Acton — Secretary

Branding consultant and former Vice President of Brand Management and Web Marketing for Kaiser Permanente, McKesson, and Prudential Healthcare.

Gary P. Barth, MD

Ophthalmologist and eye bank founder, Santa Rosa, CA. Volunteer teacher in cataract and corneal transplant techniques.

Kevin Clougherty, MHA, FACHE

Area Director of Operations - Surgical Services at St. Joseph Health - Humboldt. Prior experience with American Indian Tribes, healthcare, and local/international non-profit organizations. Expertise includes strategy, operations, and finance.

Deborah Galardi — Vice Chair

Principal of Galardi Rothstein Group, an international economics and financial consulting firm specializing in financial planning, tariff design, and capacity building for infrastructure systems.

Wavy Gravy

Social Activist, Clown, Author, Co-Director Camp Winnarainbow.

Gary W. Hahn

Founder of Hahn and Associates, Inc., an environmental consulting firm specializing in environmental site assessment and contaminant hydrogeology.

Jon Kaplan

Award-winning photographer. His photographs share the humanity, dignity, and many rich cultures represented in the developing world. Jon's images have appeared in the New York Times, The New Yorker, and many other publications, including Seva's Gifts of Sight catalog.

Kerry Kaplan

President of HealthCare Connections, a Boston based Managed Care Consulting Firm. Expertise in marketing, sales, joint ventures, executive coaching and temporary senior executive assignments.

Lisa M. Laird, CFA — Chair of Board

Chief Investment Officer, Providence St. Joseph Health.

Tomás A. Magaña, MD, MA

Pediatrician with expertise in care of at-risk children/adolescents and culturally sensitive practice. Founder and Director of the FACES for Future Coalition at the Public Health Institute. Assistant Professor, Samuel Merritt University, Oakland, CA.

Doraiswamy Nagarajan, MA, MSc

Honorary Advisor Visiting Faculty - LAICO/Aravind, Volunteer Resource person in Program and Partner Development for Rural Eyecare in South Asia.

John Plowright, CFA — Treasurer

Vice President of T. Rowe Price; Institutional Client Service, working with endowments, foundations and pension plans.

Sanjay Rajan

With over twenty years experience working as an international business strategist and consultant, Sanjay has accomplished large-scale systemic change overcoming language, cultural, and political barriers. He founded SLOWCOLOR, an integrated bottom line textile company that preserves India's rich cultural heritage while driving change for environmental sustainability and social impact. He currently is a Colorado based product and services management executive. Sanjay holds dual Global Executive MBA degrees from Columbia and London Business Schools and a MS in Computer Systems Engineering from Northeastern University.

Neal H. Shorstein, MD

Ophthalmologist and quality assurance professional with Kaiser Permanente in Walnut Creek, California, researcher in the field of cataract surgery quality and safety and volunteer with Seva, teaching advanced cataract surgery techniques.

Marty Spencer, MD, FRCSC

Ophthalmologist, Nanaimo, BC, Canada. Seva Canada board member, volunteer in technology transfer to Seva sight programs.

R.D. Thulasiraj, BSC, MBA

Executive Director of the Lions Aravind Institute of Community Ophthalmology (LAICO), LAICO helps eye-care hospitals around the world build capacity in blindness prevention.

Ram Dass, Co-founder and lifetime honorary board member, with young boy, 1980s.

Honorary Lifetime Members:

Ram Dass
T Stephen Jones, MD
Steve Miller, MD
Gullapalli N. Rao, MD, FACS
Jahanara Romney
Bob Weir

Early Board of Directors meeting, 1970s.

Advisory Circle:

Kenneth Baum, MD
Lucinda Bazile, MPH
John Bennett
Michael E. Bird, MSW, MPH
Alita Bowen
Dennis J. Bowen, Sr.
Girija Brilliant, PhD, MPH
Peter Buckley
Mirabai Bush
Nanjie Caihu
Terrance Carlson
Richard Iron Cloud
Christie Coffin
Gary Cohen
Sally Crane
Sandra Dratler, DrPH, FACHE
Devin Gattey, MD
David Green, MPH
Paul Haible
Lesli Handmacher, OD
Sonia Jain
Michael Jeffery, JD
Yvette Joseph-Fox, MSW
Daniel Karr, MD
Neal L. Keny-Guyer
Carolyn Kuali'i
Mary LaMar
Glen Dune Lankard, Jr.
Lee Larson
Mariana Leckner, Ph.D., CFM
Mickey Lemle
David Levine
Dick Litwin, MD
Judith Litwin

Elikapeka Lopez
Milan Mamirov
Amy Marsh
Maria Mangini, PhD, FNP
Sunanda Markus
Michel Maurer
Nipun Mehta
Gregory Miller
Alan Morinis, PhD
P. Namperumalsamy, MS
G. Natchiar, MS, DO
Sandra Nathan
Archolina Panton
Pauline Pariser, MD
Claudio Privitera, PhD
Daniel G. Rich
Marina Rifkin
Maura Santangelo, MD, MPH
Dylan Sears
Pamela Siliato
Isaac Sobol, MD
Beverly Spring, MD
Dr. M. Srinivasan
Christopher Thomas
Xiaomin Thomas
Mark Tilsen
Linda Velarde
Jane Ward, OD, MD, MPH
Ted Wendell
Nedd Willard, PhD
Agnes Williams
Ken Wilson, PhD
Kevin Winthrop, MD
Mariano Yee, MD

Early Board of Directors meeting, early 1980s.


Sign up to receive Seva's latest news about restoring sight and transforming lives via email or delivered to your door.

   Please leave this field empty

* We will never sell or share your email address and you can easily unsubscribe at any time.

Follow Seva:

Seva Foundation Seva Foundation Seva Foundation Seva Foundation Seva Foundation

Contact Us | Search | Privacy Policy | Our Supporters | Job Opportunities | Sign In

Seva Foundation 1786 Fifth Street Berkeley, CA 94710 phone: 510-845-7382 fax: 510-845-7410
2017 Seva Foundation. All rights reserved.